GRIDBOX

"GridBox" is a holistic smart grid concept for the distribution grid level. It is based on measuring and control devices, which are distributed in the grid and represent a comprehensive and flexible platform for applications in the distribution grid.

The concept was developed as part of two projects supported by the BFE together with partners ewz and BKW. The "GridBox Pilot Network" is a real implementation of the essential parts of the GridBox concept in terms of a "proof of concept" in two field test regions in the canton of Berne and in the city of Zurich (voltage levels N5 and N7).

As part of the "GridBox Pilot Network", the technological platform was developed and rolled out by the two grid operators and operated for one year. On the other hand, algorithms were developed and demonstrated in campaigns to determine the grid condition, to ensure grid stability and to maintain power quality. In addition, extensive analyses of the data material were carried out and solid practical experience gained in the area of installation and Prosumer interfaces.
The GridBox project has shown that regional optimization (multi-location and multi-objective optimization) works successfully with a distributed and communicating system approach.

GRIDBOX

"GridBox" ist ein umfassendes Smart Grid Konzept für die Verteilnetzebenen. Es basiert auf im Netz verteilten, im Sekundentakt kommunizierenden Mess- und Steuergeräten, welche eine umfassende und flexible Plattform für Applikationen im Verteilnetz darstellen.

Das Konzept wurde im Rahmen von zwei Projekten erarbeitet, welche durch das BFE, sowie durch die Partner ewz und BKW unterstützt wurden. Das „GridBox Pilotnetz“-Projekt ist eine reale Umsetzung der wesentlichen Teile des GridBox Konzeptes im Sinne eines „Proof of Concept“ in zwei Feldversuchsregionen im Kanton Bern und in der Stadt Zürich (Spannungsniveaus N5 und N7).

Im Rahmen des Projekts „GridBox Pilotnetz“ wurde einerseits die technologische Plattform entwickelt und durch die beiden Netzbetreiber ausgerollt und während einem Jahr betrieben. Andererseits wurden Algorithmen zur Netzzustandsbestimmung, zur Gewährleistung der Netzstabilität sowie zur Spannungshaltung entwickelt und in Kampagnen demonstriert. Zusätzlich wurden umfangreiche Analysen des Datenmaterials vorgenommen und solide Praxiserfahrung im Bereich Installation und Prosumer-Schnittstellen gesammelt.
Das Projekt GridBox hat gezeigt, dass eine regionale Optimierung (Multi-Location- und Multi-Objective-Optimierung) mit einem verteilten und kommunizierenden Systemansatzes erfolgreich funktioniert.